Skip to Main Content

Bookkeeping and Accounting Clerks

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

The American Institute of Professional Bookkeepers offers voluntary certification to bookkeepers who have at least two years of full-time experience (or the part-time or freelance equivalent), pass an examination, and sign a code of ethics. Bookkeepers who complete this requirement may use the designation certified bookkeeper. The National Bookkeepers Association offers seven certification categories: bookkeeper, accounting, QuickBooks, payroll, tax, Excel, and office management. Applicants become certified by passing a national uniform examination.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions