Skip to Main Content


Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

To become board-certified as a gastroenterologist, individuals must first become certified in internal medicine by the American Board of Internal Medicine. Requirements for internal medicine certification include graduation from an accredited medical school, three years of postdoctoral training, proven clinical competency, and passage of a comprehensive examination. Additional requirements for certification in the subspecialty of gastroenterology include three years of training in gastroenterology, 18 months of clinical practice, and passing a comprehensive subspecialty exam. A dual certification in gastroenterology and transplant hepatology is also available. 

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions