Skip to Main Content

Janitors and Cleaners

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Although not a requirement for finding a job, some janitors opt to become certified by IEHA, which offers several levels of certification or programs that indicate a certain degree of professionalism and training and may be beneficial in finding a job or in moving to better positions. Certified Environmental Services Specialist Program is designed specifically for frontline workers, including EVS specialist/technicians, housekeepers, custodians, housekeeper porters, and janitors. The Certified Environmental Services Executive (CESE) designation requires the completion of 16 modules within IEHA's Professional Education Credentialing Program (PECP). The Registered Environmental Services Executive (RESE) designation requires completing five modules in the PECP's Managing for Effect Series and 11 modules within IEHA's Technical and Administrative Series. Finally, the Master's Program is offered for "elite members committed to continuous improvement and propagating professionalism." These certifications must be renewed every two years.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.